italki.com Update

So I have been receiving Spanish language lessons through italki.com for a little over a month now and I have definitely seen some improvement in my communication skills! I have been taking lessons 2-3 days a week for 60 minutes with a native Spanish teacher who holds credentials in teaching Spanish (and English) in Costa Rica. My lessons have focused on grammar, conversation skills and communicating effectively with my Spanish speaking students and their parents. With the school year now back in full swing, I have had the help in writing a “Welcome Back” letter in Spanish, as well as practice communicating common conversational phrases with parents such as “En la semana que viene, vamos a reunirnos para discutir el IEP de su hijo/a” or “Por favor, traiga todos los documentos médicos del nino/a.” We have worked on “por” vs, “para”, indirect and direct objects, and listening comprehension with various podcasts/videos. I truly have been getting my money’s worth! The best news is…my teacher has a package deal of 5 lessons for 60 minute…which is budget friendly and altogether costs less than a mani/pedi!

I highly recommend for anyone who is serious about learning/developing their Spanish language skills to give this website a try. You have three opportunities to take trial sessions (discounted 30 minutes sessions ranging from $1USD to $10USD depending on instructor) with professional teachers to find your best fit. Then, when you have found the teacher you connect with, schedule your lessons whenever it is convenient for you! I have two small children so weekdays after 7:00 is best for me…so I found a teacher who has availability then.

I have also taken advantage of the “notebook” feature where you can practice your written language skills and get feedback from native Spanish speakers once you post. I usually write about how my session went. They also have discussion boards  and answer boards where people learning other languages can ask and answer questions as well as connect to participate in language exchange (for free).

The best thing you can do is to at least try it and see if it is something beneficial to you. I definitely have noticed that I am becoming more comfortable with the use of the preterite and imperfect tenses…an area that really was challenging for me at the beginning.

I am placing a link in this post because they have a referral program. If you click on the link below and sign up for a paid lesson, WE BOTH get 100 free italki credits ($10USD) once you complete the session!

http://www.italki.com/?ref=2629232

If anyone has used italki.com to improve their Spanish (or any other language), tell me about your experience in the comment section below!
JG

Leave a Reply

