Do you conduct your sessions in Spanish?

Now that this Spanglish SLP has finally decided to create a blog, my brain has been in overdrive with ideas and topics that would be beneficial to you as a reader! Since I work within the public school system, many of the topics will be specific to the pediatric population…specifically preschool through 5th grade since those are the grade levels I serve. I have a significant number of Spanish speaking preschoolers this year and I have found myself using more and more Spanish as part of my lesson; especially with the limited English speaking preschoolers.

Because I consider myself an intermediate Spanish speaker, I do have some confidence in administering simple directions and lessons (especially for my preschoolers) in Spanish. Very popular phrases that I find myself using are: “siéntate bien”, “espera un momentito” , “dime en inglés por favor”,  “¿y qué es esto en inglés?”, “repitemelo por favor”,  “¿estas escuchando?” and my favorite for my fidgety little ones “manos quietos.”

What are some of your most common phrases that you use in therapy?

JG

Leave a Reply

